Marc-André Grondin suggests it might be time for Carey Price to shave his head and grow a curly moustache

Posted: May 14, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,
Jay Baruchel, Marc-Andre Grondin and the Stanley Cup. That's a shaved head under that toque if you're wondering! Top Shelf photo by Brendan Kelly.

Jay Baruchel, Marc-Andre Grondin and the Stanley Cup. That’s a shaved head under that toque if you’re wondering! Top Shelf photo by Brendan Kelly.

Marc-André Grondin and I have been having a good-natured argument about Carey Price for a couple of years now. As you know, I’m a #Halak kind of guy. And Grondin – one of Canada’s better actors – is a Price man.

Well the whole Price debate was re-ignited in recent days, both by the goalie’s inconsistent performance in the Senators series and the already-famous ‘hobbit in a hole’ comments.

On the weekend, after the Sens sent the Habs to an early summer vacation, Price talked about the pressures of playing in Montreal.

‘I don’t even go the grocery store anymore,’ said Price. ‘I hardly do anything anymore. I’m like a hobbit in a hole. I just don’t do anything anymore.’

I was talking to Grondin – whose film credits include C.R.A.Z.Y., Goon and L’homme qui rit – about how tough it is to play that position for the Habs and I was opining that Carey needs to learn to deal with the pressure.

‘I think he just cannot relax,’ said Grondin. ‘It’s really bad.’

Grondin thinks the team’s management should be making sure their star goalie is doing okay off the ice.

‘If a guy has a drug problem, they take care of him,’ said Grondin. ‘Well they should do the same with a guy who needs a little more liberty.’

I said I thought – from Monday’s presser – that Habs GM Marc Bergevin is sensitive to Price’s dilemma and he’ll likely try to do something about it. I can see Bergevin talking Price out to dinner for a heart-to-heart, something that is not even imaginable with previous GM Pierre Gauthier.

‘If I had one thing to say to Carey Price, it would be shave your head and grow a curly moustache,’ said Grondin. ‘And no one will recognize you. It worked for me.’

Grondin dealt with his own stardom issues by shaving his head and growing a curly moustache!

Leave a Reply

