Who are Habs fans gonna cheer for?

Posted: May 13, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

That is the question. Who are we supposed to cheer for now that our Habs are on the golf course? This Bruins-Leafs series has presented quite the dilemma for us Habs fans. Here are our two most-hated teams battling it out in what I have to admit is one tremendous series.So who do you back here? I didn’t really know until I started watching the series and strangely, without reflection, I suddenly found myself rooting for the Bruins. I know, I know, we’re supposed to hate the big bad Bs and i will start hating them again – once they finish off the Leafs.

It suddenly dawned on me that I hate the Leafs more than I hate the Bruins. First off, Boston is the better team. That’s not even up for debate. But also we just live with a lot more resentment towards the Leafs because we live in a media universe – hello Hockey Night in Canada, hi there Toronto Sports Network – that just can’t control its Leafs boosterism.

Did you watch the Leafs-Bruins game Sunday night on Hockey Night in Canada? I mean the boys on the show couldn’t control their enthusiasm, waxing eloquent about James Reimer – who was amazing, I’ll grant you – and losing themselves in poetic reveries about their beloved Leafs. Don Cherry appeared in a blue-and-white Leafs wig – I swear, I’m not making this up! – and predicted that “WE” would win 3-2.

Now when I noted this on Twitter, some defended Grapes saying we all know this is part of his routine but c’mon man. Just imagine this happening in the States. That John Madden while working a Super Bowl broadcast takes sides in the game. Exactly. It’s unthinkable.

So I’m pulling for the Bruins just to p— of all the Leafs fans in the Toronto media. But once the Bruins finish off the Leafs – which they will Monday night, mark my words – I’ll be back to hoping they’re humiliated by whoever they face next.

Then I’m moving back to the team I loved as a kid in the ’70s in Montreal – the mighty Chicago Blackhawks. I’ll be cheering on the Hawks – along with great Scottish novelist Irvine Welsh, who is one of the Blackhawks’ most vocal fans.

But for today, it’s – Go Bruins Go!

Leave a Reply

