I’m having trouble getting worked up about a Habs Senators series

Posted: May 1, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Carey Price.

Carey Price.

Don’t get me wrong. I am super excited that the Canadiens are in the playoffs for the first time in two years and even happier that Montreal finished second in the conference, giving them home-ice advantage through at least the first two rounds. This is all good.

And I know I have been preaching for quite some time now that I believe the ideal scenario was for Les Boys to meet anyone but the Leafs. So I guess I got my wish.

So why am I so underwhelmed by the match-up? I guess it’s ’cause we have no modern post-season history with the Senators. Habs fans can’t really get a hate on for the Senators the way we do for the Leafs and especially for the Bruins.

There’s a great rivalry – Battle of Ontario and all that – between the Leafs and the Senators. But Habs-Sens? Not so much. Heck it doesn’t even seem like going to a hostile arena when Montreal plays in Kanata – there seem to be more people cheering for the Habs than for the Senators, just underlining the team’s identity issues.

The weirdest thing is that I’m actually more pumped up about watching the Leafs Bruins slug-fest right now. La question qui tue – who’s gonna try to punch our friend Milan Lucic’s lights out?

That said, I’m sure Canadiens Senators will be a good series once it’s up and running. The teams have played close games for the most part this year and it’s likely to be a long series. In other words, by game seven we might even have a rivalry going.

There will be some great mano-a-mano combats. Will Craig Anderson be the difference-maker or will Carey ‘What Me Worry’? Price finally shed his sleepy playoff past history and show that he really is a thoroughbred?

The other great duel will be between two star blue-liners, in Erik Karlsson and P.K. Subban. I’m predicting P.K. wins this one. Price vs. Anderson, I’m not so sure.

So I joked on the Daybreak podcast Wednesday that it’d be the Sens in three – the Toronto media’s wet dream – but here in the lofty confines of the Top Shelf space I’m saying it’s Habs in seven, with the seventh game going to extra time.

 

Comments
  1. Omer says:

    I don’t think anyone in Habs management thought that they have a realistic shot at the Stanley Cup. Why? Because if they did, we would have seen more movement at the trade deadline. Bergevin’s press conference didn’t even sound like he tried, insisting he was looking for the right price.

    For me, yet another second round exit won’t do anymore. The lack of movement at the deadline and the ridiculous collapse of the team in the last few weeks of the season showed that this team believes it’s *mission accomplished*.

    I hope I am wrong, but I think it’s Sens in 6.

Leave a Reply

