How about a media black-out on the hockey negotiations for the next week?

Posted: January 4, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Are you like me? (Eds. note: I certainly hope not! One of you in this world is quite enough!) Are you so sick of flipping over to the TV sports networks and seeing endless coverage of the seemingly neverending NHL labour negotiations?

I don’t do it much but I found myself there the other night watching three guys from one of the sports channels standing outside a building in New York reporting on the talks between Gary ‘I hate hockey’ Bettman and NHLPA chief Donald ‘No” Fehr. As is so often the case, the “analysts” had little to say. These guys are maybe good at providing colour commentary on hockey plays but they are no experts on labour negotiations and it shows. How many news reports have I seen where the “news” is Bettman’s body language or sartorial choices – hey he’s not wearing a suit-jacket today, this is a turning point! – or the significance of the time the meetings are set to begin – hey, they ordered in lunch, that must mean progress is being made.

Besides which, I could care less. Like the vast majority of fans, I just want to know when it’s over. When there’s a deal in place. Mostly I want to know the date of the first Habs game. I don’t want the details of a dispute that we all know was manufactured by Bettman. I don’t want to see talking heads yakking about the length of the collective bargaining agreement for five minutes.

So get back to us when Bettman and Fehr have signed on the dotted line.

 

Leave a Reply

