I’m suffering from Habs withdrawal

Posted: April 12, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I’m sitting here watching the playoffs. Who’s playing? I’m not sure. I was checking out the Rangers decimating the Sens and when that looked like a boring crushing, I switched over from our public broadcaster to the Toronto Sports Network to watch a bit of the Blues-Sharks game.

I would love to see the Blues go all the way just to see Jaroslav Halak hoist the Cup – and dedicate it to Bob Gainey and Pierre Gauthier for never believing in him. For the same sort of reason, I wouldn’t mind seeing the Preds go the distance – to see the Kostitsyn boys bring the Cup back to Montreal to party with all the trendoid bar-flies they used to hang with here.

But mostly I’m just trying to deal with the concept that the Habs are not playing in the post-season. I mean, are you kidding me? The Nashville Predators are in the playoffs but not the Canadiens? There’s something wrong with this picture.

But I know I’ll gradually get with the playoff program. Unlike most Montrealers, I actually keep watching after the Habs get eliminated, so I’ll be wasting many a night between now and June staring at bearded hockey players.

But I don’t want to get used to the idea of playoffs sans Les Boys.

– Brendan

 

Comments
  1. I hear ya, I hear ya…hockey just isn’t the same without our HABS…:-(

  2. Rick Keene says:

    Someone once said; you have to go away to be missed …unfortunately, that person was not a hockey fan …. 😉

  3. topshelfbk says:

    Oh well. Let’s start counting down the days to training camp…..:)

Leave a Reply

