Canadiens continue domination of Phoenix Coyotes with overtime win

Posted: November 11, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Les Boys won! I have to admit I checked out after the first period when it was 1-0 for the Phoenix Coyotes so I was super happy when one of the kids from the ‘hood told me this morning – as I was putting out my garbage – that the Habs had won in overtime.

Watching the highlights, I was particularly pumped to see that Captain Brian Gionta had a very good game, something that has happened all too often to M. Gionta this year. He scored a beauty of a wrap-around goal for the Canadiens’ first goal and then set-up Travis Moen – who happens to be one of our best forwards so far this season – with a just-perfect pass to put the good guys up 2-1. Josh Gorges sealed the deal in OT with a Howitzer of a blast.

All I can say, as a Habs fan, is – thank God for the Phoenix Coyotes. Montreal’s record against the financially-troubled team is 12-2-4 since the Winnipeg Jets moved south to Arizona all those years ago. The Habs won without Andrei Kostitsyn and Michael Cammalleri, who are both suffering from injuries. No word when they’ll be back. Scott Gomez, they say, might just lace-up Saturday in Nashville. To which I can only think of one thing to say – Yikes!

– Brendan

 

Leave a Reply

