Erik Cole, la suite: I like the idea of Erik Cole in a Habs jersey, no if and buts about it

Posted: July 3, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

The great thing about being a columnist is that you’re free to change your opinion whenever you feel like it. In fact, not really believing in anything is part of the criteria for nabbing the columnist/blogger job. I remember years ago sitting down to interview the guys from the great Quebecois comedy troupe Rock et Belles Oreilles – including Guy A. Lepage in his pre-Tout le monde en parle days – and just that morning in La Presse columnist Nathalie Petrowski had just tarred and feathered them for reasons I can’t recall. But they were pretty laidback about the whole tempest in a media-teapot. One of the RBO guys memorably said – ‘Don’t worry, Nathalie will have changed her mind by Saturday and she’ll write another column saying how great we are.’ Nare was a truer word spake….

On that note, I disown yesterday’s blog. Sort of. Actually I’m not really disowning it. I’m nuancing it. I know, I know, it’s a big word. Take a seat – and a deep breath. It’s just that today I’m feeling a lot more upbeat about the Habs signing Erik Cole. Sure I wish it was three rather than four years and $3.5 million instead of $4.5 million. But I also wish I’d won the loto last night.

Back in the real world, I’m happy to have Cole on my team. I just bumped into my pal Andre ‘Fever’ Lefebvre on the street and Fever – one of our great hockey minds – said of course it’s good the Habs nabbed Cole and that we need more big, tough forwards. So that’s the real story. The trouble isn’t that we got Cole. It’s that we need a couple more Coles tout de suite.

Earth to Gainey Central – the Habs forwards are way too small and too artsy-fartsy. So one power forward is a step in the right direction. And if Max Pacioretty plays like he did before Zdeno Chara tried to remove his head from his body, we might actually have two big tuff wingers – and that’s two more than we’ve had any time in recent memory.

But then again I may change my mind again by tomorrow. Stay tuned.

– Brendan

P.S. To fine out what’s on Gauthier’s mind these days, click here.

 

Comments
  1. montrealmarc says:

    Thanks, Brendan, for the link! This Josh Gorges arbitration talk is giving me ulcers. Sigh. Do you think we go after Semin???

Leave a Reply

